

ង១៩ឆ្នុំ៩ម្រៈ ទីសាមញ្ញភូចតុលាភារកម្មជា

Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia Chambres extraordinaires au sein des tribunaux cambodgiens

ក្រះរាស់ឈាចក្រង់គឺស ខាតិ សាសនា ព្រះមទារក្សត្

Kingdom of Cambodia Nation Religion King

Royaume du Cambodge Nation Religion Roi

10

In the name of the Cambodian people and the United Nations and pursuant to the Law on the Establishment of the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia for the Prosecution of Crimes Committed During the Period of Democratic Kampuchea

Case File Nº 002/31-10-2019-ECCC/SC(03)

Before:

Judge PRAK Kimsan, President

Judge Olivier BEAUVALLET

Judge NEY Thol Judge Kang Jin BAIK Judge HUOT Vuthy

Judge SIN Rith

Judge Steven BWANA

ORIGINAL DOCUMENT/DOCUMENT ORIGINAL

ថ្ងៃ ន្ទាំ ទទួល (Date of receipt/Date de reception): 23 / 01 / 2020

vinto (Time/Heure): 13-30

ាន្ត្រីមទូលមន្តកសំណុំរឿង/Case File Officer/L'agent charge

to dossier: SANN RARA

Date:

22 January 2020

PUBLIC

INVITATION TO THE SIX JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT CHAMBER WHO ADJUDICATED CASE 002/1

Co-Prosecutors

Civil Party Lead Co-Lawyers

CHEA Leang Brenda J. HOLLIS PICH Ang Megan HIRST

KHIEU Samphân Defence

KONG Sam Onn Anta GUISSÉ



THE SPECIAL PANEL of the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia,

BEING SEISED OF "KHIEU Samphân's Application for Disqualification of Six Appeal Judges Who Adjudicated in Case 002/01" (the "Application for Disqualification")¹, dated 31 October 2019;

NOTING that the Co-Prosecutors and the Civil Party Lead Co-Lawyers each filed their respective responses to the Application for Disqualification on 25 November 2019;²

NOTING that the composition of the Special Panel to hear the Application for Disqualification was finalised on 17 December 2019;³

NOTING that a separate case file for the documents related to the Application for Disqualification was created and notified to the parties and the Special Panel on 13 January 2020;

NOTING that pursuant to Internal Rule 34(7), when a party files an application for disqualification of a judge, "[t]he Judge shall be entitled to present written submissions to the Chamber within 10 (ten) days of his or her receipt of the application, through its President";

CONSIDERING that the Application for Disqualification concerns not only one judge of the Supreme Court Chamber, but six judges of the Chamber, including the President;

³ Case 002/31-10-2019-ECCC/SC(03), [Corrected 1] Appointment of Replacement Judges to Hear KHIEU Samphân's Disqualification Motion, 17 December 2019, 9; Case 002/31-10-2019-ECCC/SC(03), Appointment of Replacement Judges to Hear KHIEU Samphân's Disqualification Motion, 4 December 2019, 7.



¹ Case 002/31-10-2019-ECCC/SC(03), KHIEU Samphân's Application for Disqualification of the Six Appeal Judges who Adjudicated in Case 002/01, 31 October 2019, 1.

² Case 002/31-10-2019-ECCC/SC(03), Co-Prosecutor's Response to KHIEU Samphân's Application for Disqualification of the Six Appeal Judges Who Adjudicated Case 002/01, 25 November 2019, 5; Case 002/31-10-2019-ECCC/SC(03), Civil Party Lead Co-Lawyers' Response to KHIEU Samphân's Application for Disqualification of the Six Appeal Judges on 4 November 2019, 25 November 2019, 6. Both responses were filed in accordance with the Supreme Court Chamber's Decision on the Co-Prosecutors and Civil Party Urgent Requests for Extension of Time to Respond to KHIEU Samphân's Disqualification Request, 15 November 2019, 4, which granted the requested extension.

CONSIDERING that the six Appeal Judges of the Supreme Court Chamber who adjudicated in Case 002/1 have the right to present written submissions to the Special Panel, in light of Internal Rule 34(7);

THEREFORE, THE SPECIAL PANEL HEREBY:

INVITES Judge KONG Srim, Judge Chandra Nihal JAYASINGHE, Judge SOM Sereyvuth, Judge Florence Ndepele MWACHANDE-MUMBA, Judge MONG Monichariya and Judge YA Narin to present a written response to the Application for Disqualification to the Special Panel within 10 days from the notification of this invitation.

Phnom Penh, 22 January 2020

President

Special Panel

PRAK Kimsan Olivier BEAUVALLET NEY Thol Kang Jin BAIK HUOT Vuthy

SIN Rith

Steven BWANA

